top of page

5 Minutes, 5 Questions With… Ophelia Brown, author of How to Quench a Thirst Born in the Wilderness


October 9, 2012 Joey Pinkney

JoeyPinkney.com Exclusive Interview 5 Minutes, 5 Questions With… Ophelia Brown, author of How to Quench a Thirst Born in the Wilderness (Xlibris)

In “How to Quench a Thirst Born in the Wilderness”, Ophelia Brown is a modern Ophelia and heroine representing a woman who has been to the depths of despair, and there, reached a life affirming knowledge of self that saves her life, realizing that she is the Author (creator, mother) of Love.

A lesson that teaches that women should pay it forward and share their gifts with others to let them know that they should celebrate the journey that got them to today and be ashamed of nothing.

Joey Pinkney: Where did you get the inspiration to write “How to Quench a Thirst Born in the Wilderness“?

Ophelia Brown: The story of Ophelia inspired me to write “How to Quench a Thirst Born in the Wilderness”: A young girl who is happy and free, but loses herself in adolescence and meets a tragic end.

Ophelia never learns how to think for herself because no one taught her how. She is simply not allowed the opportunity to explore the world with her mischief. The story of “Hamlet’s Ophelia” is that of many girls. Some of which end in tragedy. It has been said that women need to deal with men to develop certain strengths, but that men don’t allow that.

Ophelia Brown’s journey is the journey to womanhood that has many twists and turns and ultimately leads to self discovery and redemption through faith, hope and love. This is a woman whose life is saved through acts of observation as well.

My attempt is to provide a vicarious experience that will teach women of all ages “how things hinge together/how wings fold” as Merike Lugus, author of “Ophelia After Centuries of Trying”, instructs.

JP: What sets “How to Quench a Thirst Born in the Wilderness” apart from other books in the same genre?

OB: “How to Quench a Thirst Born in the Wilderness” has more meat and nectar than other books in the same genre. It is very juicy, truthful and expresses a passion for the spoken and printed word.

“How to Quench a Thirst Born in the Wilderness” can help others to avoid pitfalls and make relevant decisions for their lives. It’s forward and content serve as a platform for me to express concern for other women about involving themselves in healthy relationships and chronicling their experiences for their own benefit and for that of others.

JP: As an author, what are the keys to your success that led to “How to Quench a Thirst Born in the Wilderness” getting out to the public?

OB: Strategic planning of certain moves to make such as getting my own domain and website, press release campaigns, marketing campaigns, and utilization of social media networks.

JP: As an author, what is your writing process? How long did it take you to start and finish “How to Quench a Thirst Born in the Wilderness”?

OB: I get inspired with a thought, sit down to write and keep writing until I have expressed to my heart’s content. Then I tweak it till it sounds just right to my ear. I began this book in 2000 when I penned my first performance poem, “Premonition”.

I decided that I wanted to write a book one day and become a published author, so I jotted as I walked the campus of USM and gathered my poems over a span of twelve years. These poems have been pruned, sheared, and transmogrified sometimes daily and weekly throughout the years till they have reached my satisfaction. I have to fall in love with the poem for it to be included in my manuscript.

JP: What’s next for Ophelia Brown?

OB: I will be creating an audio CD of my favorite and most poignant poems performed by yours truly. I will be performing my poetry locally . I have also been in the creative process with Sean Brown, the author of “Poems from 3rd Heaven”, and Honey Sanaa, author of “Firefly Kisses”, on a joint collection of new poetry. We are hoping to find a traditional publisher for this endeavor.

I am also working on a novella titled “Stream into a Raging River” that includes a short story called “Redemption”.

http://www.opheliabrownpublishing.com

http://www.facebook.com/ophelia.brown.7758

http://www.twitter.com/opheliabrown12

http://missopheliabrown.tumblr.com/

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ophelia-Brown/100106016807105

Writing under a pen name, Ophelia Brown I have been trying to come up with the correct formula for success. This is my first book written under the pen name, although I have had two previous publications under my given name. I feel that “How to Quench a Thirst Born in the Wilderness best represents my vision.

bottom of page