top of page

Can Love Survive: Rancor ?


She would write in her journal about how he made her feel so empty, but more determined to do what she had to do and graduate high school so she could get out of that house. She didn’t behave like a normal girl, with crushes on boys. In fact, she abhorred men. And she would amuse herself thinking about the most delicate flower she could imagine, another woman’s touch. She would write about what she hoped love could truly be. That she would be open to finding it, and if she could, keep it.

EXCERPT:

Amy had been dazzled by Emily’s composure and seeming innocence. Now they were alone and no one could hurt them anymore. “Emily, I am so sorry about what your brother did to you.” “He did it a lot, you know. He used me like his own personal punching bag only he was punching himself inside of me, not with fists to my face.” “You are so brave.” “Thanks.” “But I wonder if I’ll ever find love in this world. I mean, I don’t like guys.” “You don’t?” “No, not after Mike.” “Well, I don’t blame you for that. But maybe you’ll find someone that will treat you right.” Emily began waving her hands and shaking her head as tears began falling off her nose. “That’s what I want, but…” “Oh, Emily…” Amy held Emily’s hands together. “You’ll find her.”

bottom of page